Testimonials

The following are actual reviews pulled from Yelp (including filtered reviews), Facebook, Naturally Curly.com, and others from customers that received a Hair or Skin Service at West End Salon:

To review us, click here

Yelp and Google Reviews:

5 Stars: I dropped in for a haircut (men’s / medium length / semi-curly) and got a fantastic cut from Jo. She was very patient though I wasn’t quite sure just what I wanted and I kept asking “a little more here, a little more there.” Nice atmosphere, very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Jeff W. 9/8/17

4 Stars: Just moved to the area and SO RELIVED I found a great salon nearby. Tracie was friendly and knew just what I needed. there was a bit of delay with my appointment, but it was something out of their control, and they made sure to give me a call before hand to let me know they were running late. Plus, the pricing here is fantastic. I’ll be back!

Melanie G. 8/24/17

5 Stars: Tracie is bomb! She is super fun, down to earth and always does the best job. Her pricing is super reasonable. Book an appointment with her ASAP!

Bailey J. 8/23/17

5 Stars: Huge thank you to Tracie. My curly hair has never looked better.

Annette B.E. 8/20/17

5 Stars: Tracie is the absolute best! Would not go anywhere else in Boulder.

Caitlin D. 8/3/17

West End was great!!! I came in for just a haircut and left feeling like a new person. Casey was AMAZING! She was so much fun and knew just what to do to make me look my best! Would come back to her over and over again!

Elizabeth W. 7/23/17

Janina’s gave me the best devacut ever! Totally recommend.

Rowan S. 7/21/17

Casey is very knowledgeable and reliable. She can take a clients vision and make it reality. On top of her professionalism, she is very personable, funny and easy going. 5 stars for Casey representing herself and West End Salon with unspoken integrity. Thank you, Casey!

7/17/17 Michelle T.

I just went and had Amy cut my hair it was a real mess and she did a great job. Really great price too! I’ll definitely come back to Amy.

7/17/17 Mike M.

Amy is an excellent hair stylist and puts a lot of effort into getting your haircut and color just right. She is personable and has a good sense of humor. I highly recommend her!

Francesca S. 7/4/17

Lia Tomlinson worked magic on my culrs! I had never felt like any previous stylists really understood how to cut curly hair until Lia got her hands on my hair. She rectified the horrible cut I came in with and was knowledgable about how to style and care for my curls. She’s also fun and freindly and a joy to spend an hour with! There’s nothing worse than a bad haircut and now I know with Lia, I won’t have to worry about that again! Also a shout out to West End for their quality of sercice and for employing such knowledgable and talented stylists.

6/30/17 Erica L.

First time in the salon, first time with Casey. Good experience overall; Casey is friendly, easy going and skilled at cutting hair. Going back in two weeks for balayage and looking forward to it.

6/25/17 Elle P.

5 Stars: They fit me in at the last minute and were amazing with color!

6/20/17 Heather F.

5 Stars: Alex is my queen, my shining star, my hair-taming extraordinaire. After 7 years of making my lion hair something beautiful, I say with confidence that no one else can touch my color. But she’s like a Pokémon–hard to catch but worth the wait–so book early, ladies and gentlemen.

6/20/17 Kayla E.

5 Stars: I would definitely recommend West End. Casey is great! She always keeps the conversation entertaining and my hair has never looked better.

6/20/17 Annie T.

5 Stars: They fit me in at the last minute and were amazing with coloring!!

6/19/17 Heather F.

5 Stars: I don’t often write reviews, but Lia is really exceptional and I love coming in to have her take care of my hair. She really listens and is a full hair consultant taking care of my hair based on the season and my events that are coming up. I absolutely love the work that she does and she is quite entertaining as well. I’ll keep coming back until I don’t have hair to cut!

6/14/17

I found this salon by searching on Yelp since I am new to Boulder (just moved from NYC area). I am glad I made the choice. I had highlights done by Lucy and I love them. She is very professional and also very pleasant. She made some good recommendations based on the dry weather for my hair. I have a hard time getting highlights I like – usually they are too dark/too many low lights – these are perfect. They are blonde, but I don’t feel it looks fake or too bleached. I would definitely recommend checking this salon/Lucy out! The salon is very nice inside too.

6/11/17 Sara M.

I saw Tracie and she did a great job on my hair. It was a trim and she added some layers as well to make my hair look thicker. It was exactly what I was looking for. I was very pleased.

6/11/17 Andrea B.

Casey G. has cut, colored and styled my hair on several occasions and it’s turned out perfect every time. Her attention to detail is awesome and the cuts have the perfect bounce and lay just perfectly. She did balayage color that looked natural and flawless. I couldn’t be happier. Added bonus is that her regular styling after cut (not a blowout, which she’s also done a fantastic job with) is still so great that it’s 100 times better than anything I do myself, which is something I’ve never been able to say about a stylist before. Can’t recommend Casey highly enough.

6/11/17 Sarah B.

5 Stars: This review is basically just for Jo! … although the entire facility is fabulous. Jo is a keeper for as long as I live in Colorado and will be greatly missed after that. She really cares about what she’s doing and listens to exactly what your hopes are for your hair. Her recommendations have superseded any I could ever imagine. She made me smile again and took me on as a long term client whom she’s helped and advide and been very patient with regards to my hair restoration. Thank you for going the extra mile. Jo! You’re the best!

6/3/17 Jocelyn W.

5 Stars: First time appointment with Janina today and first highlights ever. I was a little nervous about doing it but wanted a change. Janina answered all my questions and helped me pick a color. Looks great and most importantly, I’m confident I’ll be able to recreate the moisturizer curly look that she instructed me in with the Deva products. Will be back for a cut and touch up in a few months!

6/217 LA Yeung

5 Stars: I’ve been seeing Casey G. for a while, first when she was at another salon and now at West End. She always does a fantastic job on my cuts and color. She is very thorough and dedicated to her craft, taking time to make sure everything comes out beautifully. And I love that Kevin Murphy products are cruelty-free!

5/30/17 Julia O’Sullivan

5 Stars: Casey is the bestest ever!!!! she’s the leger family hair stylist and she’s the bomb!!!

5/30/17 Emma L.

Lia’s the greatest! She wrangles my unruly mop of thick, curly hair into something gorgeous every time. And the salon itself is comfortable, funky and completely unpretentious. My go-to place for a color and cut.

5/27/17 Sandy B.

Janina always does the best job with my hair! Intensive highlights that look so natural! I wouldn’t trust anyone else!

5/23/17 Catherine C.

My fiance and i tried this salon for the first time. With both of our hair being very different, it is difficult to find someone who can make us both look amazing. I am currently trying to get my hair in wedding condition and help it grow quickly. She did an amazing job and was great to chat with the whole time. I immediately booked my next appointment with her. I would give more stars if I could.

5/21/17 Hariscay I.

Alex has been my favorite colorist for 5 years, she can do magic with highlights. I can’t recommend her enough! She also takes the time to listen to exactly what I want and teaches me how to style it after my cut and color. I step out of the salon with amazing hair and I can duplicate it at home. Love, love, love. Make sure to book ahead though, her appointments fill up fast!

5/17/17 Jenna C.

Unhappy with the stylists in Denver, I decided to check out Boulder (I’m a proud CU Alumni) and I’m so glad I listened to Yelp. I booked a haircut with Casey online and was thrilled when the salon called me to say they had a cancellation and could take me two hours earlier. Casey is awesome and so friendly. We discussed my hair and long layers. She did a great job looking at my hair and explaining how she was going to cut it. I love the products ad was treated to a mask to repair my dry hair. The massage was awesome and everyone in the salon was super friendly. The results were amazing. This is the best haircut I’ve ever gotten as she kept my length, shaped my long layers and I am in love with my hair. I booked my appointment for partial highlights and my next haircut. I highly recommend this salon and Casey.

5/17/17 Suzie L.

5 Stars: Stephanie is a master with color! Great experience at this salon.

5/12/17 Gwen R.

5 Stars: Janina Futral is amazing with color. She can create anything I ask for. It’s more like she has a wand v. a comb. We’ve been going to West End Salon for years. My husband’s haircut is only “right” when Janina does it. I look around when I’m inside and see nothing but talented stylists making all of their clients hair wishes come true. I love that I’m a client here. The esthetician services are great too. I’m excited for the expansion to full service salon!

5/5/17 Taffy N.

Jo is awesome. My first appointment with her was a great experience. The color and cut were absolutely perfect – just what I was looking for. She was friendly and professional as well. I’d highly recommend Jo for color and cut!

5/9/17 Jackie G.

5 Stars: I have the best hair stylist. His name is Josh. He is creative , keeps you current and he’s cute, to boot. He is the best colorist I’ve had, and I’ve seen numerous over the years. Josh also cuts my husbands hair and it always looks good. The Salon is in a great part of downtown Boulder where you can shop or go for dinner after you get a fantastic cut and color by Josh.

5/5/17 Stephanie K.

I had a great experience with Casey. She was very knowledgeable about color and got what I wanted to do with my cut and color. She’s genuinely nice and a pleasure to be with. I also like the product line they use, Kevin Murphy, it’s a cleaner line that is good for our hair and the planet.

5/2/17 Lauren G.

5 Stars: Tracie is awesome and it’s been a pleasure getting my hair done by her. The service is quick, friendly, and I always leave with what I ask for! Definitely recommend!

5/5/17 Rhiannon L.

5 Stars: This is my second visit with Tracie. I am so happy to have found a salon and a hairstylist who can cut curly hair. They have DevaCurl products and a cool DevaCurl dryer that really cuts down on frizz. I would definitely recommend West End for curly hair!

5/5/17 Cori S.

5 Stars: Stephanie does a super job on my Deva cut every time. She’s confident in what looks good on me, even if I don’t know what I want coming in. Stephanie is so friendly and warm, and very easy to chat to(none of the “sooo where you going on holidays” insane chat that normally happens at the hair dressers). Overall strongly recommend Stephanie for Deva cuts!

4/28/17 Claire R.

I made a first time appointment with Alicia and had no idea what to expect. I had just moved to the area and finding a stylist that is skilled in Balayage is a difficult find. With very little conversation and zero pictures needed, Alicia understood intuitively exactly what I was asking for and not only created it, but its one of the best Balayage jobs I have ever received! I am blown away by her skill level and experience with a new client, in producing exactly as communicated! Balayage is not an easy skill for a hair stylists and this one I can confidently say, perfects this technique! I have been to so many who have messed my hair up or had no idea what being trained in this technique truly means. On top of that, she is fun and so authentic to talk to during the appointment. A breath of fresh air to have scored her as my new hair stylist in Boulder! Anyone who finds her will be blessed with her personality and creative skills.

4/24/17 Shaelyn E.

I’ve been seeing Casey now for almost a year and she’s done wonders for my hair. She has great ideas for making my hair look the way I want with both color and style, while making it functional for my busy schedule. Check them out!

4/18/17 Josie K.

I’ve had Amy cut my hair several times and she has done a great job each time. She is thorough and takes her time and I like that. She also does not talk the whole time and bore me like some other stylists I’ve used at other salons. She does not push a lot of products for me to buy and not use. I merely want a good cut and that is what I get at this salon.

4/12/17 Dan J.

5 Stars: My haircut experience with Lia was amazing!! She was fun, kind, and showed me how to take care of my curls with the Deva Curl system (also gave me great information about how my products affect my hair health). Loved her and loved the salon, would recommend to everyone!

4/11/17 Alexa B.

5 Stars: Steph was a fantastic find in Boulder, CO. It has been difficult to find a local stylist as a biracial girl with thick curls. Steph is fantastic with curly hair and takes the time and energy to really work with your texture. I love how my hair turns out and it’s a blast to hang out with her during my appts. Book her!!!`

4/5/17 Ariel A.

5 Stars: Tracie did such a great job! I was going for a drastically different look and she nailed it! Thank you!!!!

4/1/17 Monet A.

5 Stars: 12 years of flawless, flattering hair cuts (including for my wedding) and I would never go anywhere else! Janina is the absolute best!

3/30/17 Carolyn C.

I just had my first appointment with Casey and she is amazing! She listened to what I wanted and was honest with me about what needed to be one with my hair, which is really important because we all know how special our hair is to us! I definitely look forward to working with her again. Thank you!

3/27/17 Sam T.

5 Stars: Just came into west end salon and Jo did an amazing job 🙂 great for any girls looking for a nice summery blonde xo

3/25/17 Carlie Webbert

Lia took her time to help me select a style. Love the product she introduced me to as well. I recommend this salon and Lia.

3/18/17 Taylor N.

5 Stars: Always such a great experience. They know what they’re talking about and help me figure out…

3/14/17 Schyler H.

5 Stars: Loved my service from Casey today! What I wanted! Highly recommend West End Salon.

3/8/17 Megan W.

5 Stars: Fantastic cut! Was scared at first going to a new stylist but they walked me through everything they were doing and showed me how to style everything. Tracie is an amazing stylist!! Would definitely recommend.

3/8/17 Destin W.

5 Stars: Such a great salon. Casey does a fantastic job. Awesome products. Highly recommended!
3/8/17 Erinn H.E

This review is for Stephanie who was an absolute pleasure to chat with and she worked magic on my hair. I am picky with my cuts, I usually leave loving it and then once I wash and style it myself I find that it takes forever “settle” or I’m just not wild about it. Not this time, she gave me exactly what I asked for and it dries naturally like a charm and also looks great styled. She gave me a beautiful balayage as well. I’m naturally blonde but like to brighten things up with highlights every once and a while and I swear you would never know I had anything done, it looks sun-kissed and natural. And on top of all that she’s just super nice and relatable. I will be back to see her again for sure. Thank you!

3/3/17 Hayley H.

Lia is an absolute delight — I recently immigrated to the US, and have struggled a great deal to find the right stylist over the past months… As an East Asian, I have somewhat thick, straight hair and my staple hairstyle is relatively simple that requires low maintenance, a collarbone-length bob haircut. Yet, it’s been tremendously difficult to find a decent stylist who can help me maintain the way it is… Lia literally saved my life!

Lia’s extremely friendly & personable and equally knowledgeable in a myriad of products & all the hair types. I immediately felt at ease and had a great time chatting with her. Be aware, though, she’s extremely popular and in high demand, so better reserve a slot at least few days prior. 🙂 She reminds me of a skillful sculptor, in a sense that she can see through what she will produce in a mass of unshaped material, i.e., hair. Lia’s also a great listener, she will ensure that you come in and leave feeling all of your wishes become fulfilled. Cannot recommend her enough!!! I will continuously visit her 🙂

2/12/17. Mimi B.
I had a great experience getting my haircut by Nine! I walked in feeling a little uncomfortable in my skin since cutting my own hair, and she helped me even it out. I walked out loving my hair again. Thank you so much!
2/13/17 Chelsea B.
Always an excellent visit with Lia Tomlinson! She does exactly what I want her to do with my hair! Perfect for us curly girls!
2/5/17 Shana C.
Hannah did a root/color touch up on me today and I can honestly say it’s the best my hair has ever benn done! (Tried 2 different places prior to here). She is accurate and fast, and I would strongly recommend her services! She is also a lovely, friendly person who is very nice to chat during the process!
1/26/17 KellyF.
The aesthetician is amazing! I’ve endured my fair share of waxing over years, and let’s face it whether it goes good or bad we are still getting mildly tortured. The aesthetician, Tegan, is a doll! Not only am I all trimmed up and ready for action, I barely felt a thing! Oh and she gave me some great skin care tips. She has a special on facials for the holidays. I know what I’m asking for from Santa 😉
12/5/16 Sarah B.
These guys are great and Lia is awesome! I tried a ton of different hairdressers in Boulder after moving here from London and kept being really unhappy with my color. It would grow out really fast. My husband then went to have his hair cut with Lia and it was the best cut I’d ever seen on him so I thought I’d give her a go too. She’s been amazing and I’ve been going ever since (at least 2 years). I highly recommend her.
11/24/16 Verity N.
I had a great experience with Tracie! I have a short pixie cut and it is hard to find a stylist that is so great with short hair styles and curly hair! I will definitely come in again!
11/15/16 Emily S.
Josh gives the best Deva Curl Set EVER!!! His scalp massage is hydrating and these VEGAN products keep my hair and curls glowing and tamed! And he is sweet as you can get!
11/13/16 Caroline A.
I was lucky enough o be scheduled for a haircut with Lucille after finding West End Salon on Yelp, after just moving to Boulder. Sounds corny, but it was probably the best haircut experience I’ve ever had in my adult life! I feel like it’s always awkward, forced conversation whenever I’ve gone in for a quick haircut in the past. But Lucille was super easy to talk to and it never felt like uncomfortable small talk, even for a minute. Of course, the salon chair conversation wasn’t the only great thing about the experience. I’ve become accustomed to expecting to NOT like my hair until about 2 weeks after the appointment (the so-called “awkward phase”). But I loved my haircut immediately. Lucille is a master at her craft — highly recommended. I’ll be back for my semiannual haircut!
11/12/16 Azia O.
First of all, going  to a new hairstylist is always rather frightening. However, Abby made me feel comfortable and trimmed my mop into a cute cut! She took such care in cutting my bangs to the perfect style and length; I’m super impressed. The receptionists are sweet and super helpful on the phone. Will recommend 🙂
10/26/16 M.A. McCarthy
Lucille gave me a fantastic haircut! I came in last minute, not knowing what I wanted but knowing i needed a change. I am not someone who typically devotes much time to my hair — so this was not exactly easy for her! She was very patient, gave me great advice, gave me a great haircut, and then explained every step as she styled so I could try to replicate at home. The cut looks great styled and air dried. For reference I have straight, fine hair. This is the first haircut I’ve had in a long time that I want to maintain!
10/23/16 T.G.
Tegan is a peach! Her calming demeanor during my Brazilan wax made all the difference. I had one horrible experience a year ago and swore I would never go through it again, but my experience at West End gave me the confidence to continue waxing. Thank you, Tegan!
10/20/16 Cal S.
Really love this place! Receptionists are always friendly and provide great customer service. Lia Tomlinson is an amazing colorist and stylist in my opinion.
10/19/16 Kristen E.
Lia is great for a Men’s haircut. I highly recommend. She has been my stylist for several years and she always makes great recommendations and does a great cut!
10/13/16 Sean K.
Half way through the Fall Custom Peel Series! My skin is back on track – feeling and looking amazing. Not the place you would think to get a facial, but Tegan has created a comfortable and relaxing room and has a very pleasant bedside manner. Can’t wait for my next treatment!
10/12/16 Susan D.
I went in for my first Brazilian and was surprisingly pleased with the experience. Tegan was comforting and gentle which made the experience more enjoyable because I was extremely fearful. I highly recommend Tegan for any waxing procedures!
10/11/16 Summer S.

Yesterday, I got my first ever Brazilian wax. As you can imagine, I was a bit nervous and all my friend’s horror stories weren’t helping. I couldn’t believe how scared I was for no reason! Tegan, their esthetician, was so nice made me feel totally comfortable. I had a great first-time experience here and will absolutely be back. Thanks West End!

10/11/16 Aspen A.
Extremely great service provided at this salon. I needed to have my hair colored by a local salon asap and out of 15 salons that I called, this was the only one that was able to get me in within 24 hours. My hair looked MARVELOUS after Amy Sharp, Designer and Color Specialist, had worded on it and I felt so pampered by everyone here. Great salon for everyone, I’d definitely recommend it! Thank you gals 🙂
10/7/16 Briana H.
I have fine curly hair so I’m always cautious about trying new stylists. I shouldn’t be worried. Tracie was amazing! She made me feel totally comfortable & my new haircut looks great! She worked with me to figure out what would work with my curl & texture, and I still came out basically the exact same look I wanted. It was also my first time trying the Devacut, and I would definitely recommend that to any other curly girls out there – my curls feel so much more healthy now!
10/2/16 Susanna T.
Tracie K. is amazing and really helped me decide on the best services for my hair. She does a cut as well as color on my hair and is always fantastic! I recommend her to anyone.
10/1/16 Amy C.
I went to West End Salon after reading the reviews here on Yelp, and I’m happy that I did so I want to contribute with a review. Stephanie was great, she helped me get my hair looking natural with highlights and toner to get rid of my outrageous roots and my blonde hair that was a bit brassy after summer. She has great knowledge and knew exactly how to get my hair color looking great. I’m very pleased. I’m happy I found a great hairdresser here in Boulder!
9/30/16 Karin L.
Jo Everett is amazing!!! Every time I visit her for a cut and color, she does an amazing job! She listens to what I want and gets it right every time. I get so many compliments on my hair  – it’s amazing to me that people are complimenting me on it even when it’s been awhile since I’ve been in to see her. You know it’s a great cut when it lasts that long! Thanks Jo for making me feel beautiful! xoxo
9/27/16 Kate R.
West End Salon has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Every time Abby curls my hair she does a great job, always listens to what I want and explains what she is dong. I couldn’t be happier with the quality of service. They also are sincerely committed to health and wellness. Thank you West End Salon.
9/21/16 Leslie G.
I am a retired hairdresser and hard to please. I just moved to the area and had the awful task of finding a new stylist. Abby was a delight and helped me to feel completely at ease from the beginning. She really listened to what I was saying and did an incredible job!! I will return to see Abby next time 🙂
9/21/16 Beth R.
I just had a fantastic haircut from Tracie – she really took the time to make sure that I liked my cut! The salon is beautiful and clean, I’ll definitely be back.
9/17/16 Amber H.
Hannah is a magician!!! From the moment I walked in, she knew exactly what to do with my hair! This is no easy task. My hair had not been cut for ages because I don’t trust many people to do it. I also don’t like to fuss with my hair, meaning I don’t spend much time (none!) styling it. I prefer to wash and go! The texture of my hair is coarse and it can tend to look dry, although it’s actually healthy hair! I use great products on it and always protect it from damage. Hannah used all the right techniques to create beautiful layers. She cut my hair in a way that makes it move and lay perfectly!! Hannah saw and felt my hair and quickly determined exactly what to do. She is a natural talent with her shears and she’s got tons of experience with different hair types. Hannah is my hero!!!
9/4/16 Maureen M.
Just recently moved to Boulder from NY. I have been going to the same hair stylist for years and was very skeptical about changing as I loved my stylist back in NY! I decided to bite the bullet and make an appointment with Lia (who had great recommendations for blonde highlights and low lights). I went in there very nervous that I was going to be miserable at the end of this appointment but Lia did an AMAZING job! She did the color exactly how I wanted it. I think I even like her more than my NY stylist. I will definitely be going back and she comes highly recommended.
8/30/16 Kaila F.
I went to West End because it is super conveniently located on Walnut and they staff enough stylists so I don’t have to wait 2+ weeks to book an appointment (something that irks me). The receptionist has good customer service. Everyone is nice. If a mistake is made, they always correct it. They offer water, coffee and tea. If you can’t find a spot on the street, there is plenty of parking in the garage right across the street. The products they use include Kevin Murphy, Pureology, and the like. The prices are super reasonable for a salon in this location and of this caliber.
Stephanie did a great job on my cut and color. Love that they have Kevin Murphy cruelty free products!
8/25/16 Jaime S.
My profile: I have naturally brown hair, mostly just straight, no curls. I have a lot of it but the hair is fine. I have been dying my hair blonde for 2+ years and have been to 15+ colorists over that time (including popular salons in town like Voodoo, etc). Jo was not specifically recommended to me, but I happened to get her as my stylist when I booked an appointment here.
As I said, I have been to tons of hairstylists but I have stuck with Jo and highly recommend her to anyone looking for a hair cut or color because she is a skilled and competent stylist. I have been to other skilled stylists, but Jo stands out from them because she actually listens to me. I never walk out feeling like I didn’t get what I wanted. If I say I want to try something or I am going for a certain look, she doesn’t question me or say things like “HMM I don’t know.” She is a direct communicator and she’s smart. She is understanding and professional with my difficult and poorly worded requests. I always walk out happy. Go to Jo>
8/17/16 Gigi W.
I’ve been seeing Nine for 4 years. She’s great and knows how to pick color, cuts and styles that will flatter yet be kind to the health of my hair.
8/5/16 Camille B.
You know you got a great cut when people ask you, “Where do you get your hair cut?” That’s what happened after my first cut at West End. I moved to Boulder 8 months ago and I’ve been getting my hair cut and colored by the owner of a salon that is trendier and more expensive than West End, however I wasn’t happy with the cuts and service I was getting and I decided to try something new. I saw Lia two weeks ago and she is phenomenal. I have naturally curly hair and she gave me the full Diva Curl cut and lesson on how to maintain it on my own. I went home with the gel from Diva Curl and I’ve been able to duplicate the same look Lia gave me in the salon. The color is great as well. The 5 stars is for Lia’s talent, character, and service. I will say that the front desk team was very friendly, both over the phone when I made the appointment and in person when I arrived, but they did seem overwhelmed and I observed them unable/unwilling to help a stylist get a hot drink for a customer when asked to and unable to clean the bathroom promptly when someone left it worse for wear (an hour passed before anyone came to clean up the mess). That was all a bit off putting, but Lia’s service erased my concerns about the business. I’m happy I found West End Salon.
8/5/16 Kim S.
I got a cut with stylist, Abby. She was very knowledgeable with products and clearly knew what she was doing regarding hair. She was friendly and easy to talk to. I really really enjoyed my experience. I love my hair cut and my style!! Thank you, Abby!
8/15/16 Makayla S.
I’m in Boulder visiting from LA & really like this place. Meg just did my hair. It’s amazing! I got red color it looks natural, the cut is beautiful.
7/30/16 Tia W.
Lia is the BEST 🙂 She’s been making me blonde since I moved here from south Florida 3 years ago!
7/28/16 Allison W.
Stephanie is amazing! I love their ammonia free hair coloring products. Highly recommend!
7/14/16 Marcia S.
I have been seeing Lia for years! I love her! I have curly hair, and she does magic with it every time. She even indulges all my crazy style ideas. I moved to Fort Collins 2 years ago,  and I still make the drive to see her! Did I say she is amazing? Because she is
7/14/16 Megan E
Just a note to say thank you to Tracie for doing such a great job on my hair…. especially when I told her that I had previously had the worst haircut of my life at another salon. She listened, ask lots of questions, took her time and now I’m in Hawaii ….looking good! She is not only a professional stylist but fun to talk to and she will be my Go-To stylist!
West End Salon has a friendly vibe!
Carol R. 7/13/16
I love this salon. I was nervous to go someplace new (I’m from the East Coast)but I walked by and thought it had a professional and friendly vibe. Shane waxed my eyebrows ($20). And I saw her doing makeup for 2 women who looked stunning in a natural, polished way. Jo gave me a fantastic very short and chic haircut ($60). It has edge and softness! Highly recommended
7/10/16 MS.
Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Wait Time

Hannah is a great stylist and person! She makes a haircut special! I love my new cut! She took the time with me to design a style I would be happy with. And I am!

5/24/16 via Square
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Wait Time

I love Hannah. She was able to take a picture off Pinterest and transform my hair into exactly what I wanted. I walked out feeling great! My new color is beautiful. I can’t say enough great things. Thank you so much for my new found confidence.

6/27/16 via Square

I took a chance on a new salon, picked a stylist on their site and went for it. I emailed the salon to see if there was an opening not showing on their site. Hannah was happy to stay late on a Friday to fit me in. We chatted for a bit before she got started, talked about changing up my color and cut a bit, I felt she understood what I wanted. So, I got home and absolutely loved the cut but was not in love with the tone of the color. It wasn’t wrong per se, but darker than I wanted. I sent a note to Hannah the next day to see what she thought. She encouraged me to come in, and was gracious enough to squeeze me in again. We were able to make the color a bit brighter with a simple solution. Hannah was incredibly professional in handling what could have been an uncomfortable situation. I was really glad I contacted her to change the color. I am very happy with the results and am now a loyal customer.

Jen P. 7/5/16

I have been seeing Stephanie P for 2 years. My previous hairdresser moved to Denver and I had no desire to fight downtown traffic. Stephanie is my neighbor and had been offering to cut my hair fora  while. I’m glad I made the switch. The salon is clean and efficient. Stephanie is a great colorist, and does a great cut. I have a short hip hair cut and she always gets it right.

Kassie D. 6/30/16

Stopped in today for my first Deva Cut. Abby did an amazing job, explaining every step so I could style my hair similarly at home. My hair usually appears almost straight, but after Deva Cut it looks beautifully wavy. Abby also helped me make sense of all the Deva products to see which ones are right for me. I will definitely come back and recommend her to my friends!

Dasha G. 5/24/16

Lia is the best! She is super attentive to what I want and can execute perfectly! She also has awesome advice for maintaining hairstyle and hair health at home. If you want what you want. .. go to Lia at West End!

Anne T. 05/12/16

I just moved back to Boulder after being gone for a while, and boy did I miss Lia! Let’s just say I’ve had some not so great experiences lately, and I feel like I’ve finally come home … she is amazing. She always listens to what I want, and teaches me how to style my new look so I can do it at home. My color and cuts are always so perfect! Yay!

Ruby D. 5/4/16

I had a bridal hair trail with Abby and she did a wonderful job with my waterfall braids. She had a great intuition of the look I was going for and I can’t believe she actually got my hair to hold a curls (hours later it’s still curled, which never happens). she was also super nice and easy to talk to and I’, very relieved to have found her as I didn’t have a to go-to stylist in the area before. I think the price is also quite competitive for Boulder.

Stella V. 4/6/16

Hi Jo, Not sure if you will remember me but I popped in on a whim while visiting my son at CU a month ago or so. I have been meaning to drop you a note to tell you how much I love my haircut. It is super easy to manage and I can get a few looks out of it. It is still going strong a month later! I know it isn’t realistic to come to Boulder ever time I need  a haircut, but I do hope to get there soon. I just love it and really appreciate your attention to detail and professionalism.

Jennifer von Clemm 3/31/16

Had a life-changing haircut experience with Lucille. As a curly-hair girl, I have always wanted to wear it curly,m but never knew how to style it so that it wouldn’t be a giant poof ball. Every hair stylist I went to would want to straighten it for me that it would look “good,” but I wanted my own hair! Lucille taught me the DevaCurl concept (HIGHLY recommend, if you have curly hair get this haircut ASAP) and now I wear my hair curly exclusively and get compliments on it all the time! I feel empowered and just really happy to be able to show off my curls and be proud of them instead of spending too much time frying my hair with the straightening iron (my husband loves my curls, too!) Plus, Lucille was a really nice person. She recommended some really great products when I asked but wasn’t pushy at all, which is something that can get annoying at other salons. Will definitely be seeing her again for my next cut.

Derya A. 3/23/16

I had the most AMAZING experience with Abby at West End! She is so friendly, knowledgeable and amazingly skilled with hair. My first shampoo and cut with Abby was the best salon experience that I’ve had – period. Abby did a great job listening to what I wanted and providing style suggestions. She ALSO showed me how to create easy flatiron waves with my hair AND suggested a new highlighting technique for my next visit. I will absolutely be back! My go-to stylist in Boulder recently relocated and I was reluctant to find someone new. I was so lucky that I ran into Rich and that he could recommend Abby for my new stylist. I wish I could Abby and West End Salon 10 starts. It’s a great salon and a super cozy and friendly environment. Thank you all!

Chelsea B. 3/15/16

Lucy Pew is the best stylist ever! She knows exactly how to deal with my long, wavy hair and she advised me to use hair products that have always fulfilled my needs. I always trust her!

Raquel M. 2/6/16

Lucille Pew is amazing! She’s been cutting my hair for years…super long straight hair. She does an amazing job of keeping it healthy and fresh looking. I always get such an excellent highlight job…it’ll grow out well and always looks fresh and natural. I finally decided to cut close to 15+ inches off and go for a long pixie cut. She did a fantastic job of picking a style/cut that would suit my face, my style and my desire to stay as low maintenance as possible. The style is fun and edgy…but natural and fresh looking as well. I just love Lucille! She is great at her job, but also makes you feel so good. Being able to sit down with her far an hour+ and chat is so fun. Getting my hair cut with her is always such a great experience. She is such a wonderful person, and I’m so glad that I found her!

Sabrina F. 2/5/16

Lucy Pew – stylist extraordinaire at West End Salon is awesome. Here’s how awesome she is. I started getting my hair cut by her when she was working in Minneapolis over 4 years ago! She continues to style my hair now that we are both in Boulder. She is the first and only stylist I have ever truly trusted with my hair. She always has a brilliant idea for how to cut my hair and she follows through with a gorgeous cut. She taught me how to handle my curly hair and I always get compliments. I had been the girl in a pony tail until I started getting my hair styled by her. You can not go wrong going to Lucy at West End Salon!!!

Abry D. 2/5/16

RELIEVED to have found this place! I have always had problems with hairstylists not understanding what I was looking for, but Lucille was just outstanding!! She listened and made ME the center of attention, not as many other stylists treat their clients as manikins to practice their artwork. I walked out of that place with nothing but a big smile on my face, going to an important meeting with a client of mine for a big project. The awesome haircut helped restore confidence in me and I ended up signing a great contract. I would refer Lucille @WestEndSalon to everybody and especially to people like me, that are just overly detail concerned and hardly ever satisfied. The woman knew her stuff, Professional!!!

Fis M. 2/5/16

I’ve been seeing Lia Tomlinson for a couple of years and she’s just as good as it gets! I swear she is the best colorist for blonde in the Boulder area. She’s a fantastic listener and totally transformed my hair from a fried dark mess to a beautiful ashy blonde, and taught me a ton of new tricks and techniques along the way (including how to do a pretty decent blowout!). She’s super knowledgeable and always curious to learn new skills, and is just all around a delight to work with 🙂

I look forward to my appointments with Lia so much that even though I moved to California recently, I have taken every chance I get to go back to Boulder and visit – She is irreplaceable!

Stephanie L. 12/23/15

After seeing the same stylist for most of my life,I was happy to find a great salon with a great stylist Stephanie is wonderful!she does exactly the style I ask for. I usually get just a haircut, but have also seen Stephanie coloring as well (ombre style) and it turned out beautifully! I have recommended West End Salon to many friends and recommended them to anyone looking for a great cut!

Lindsey M. 11/25/15

Janina has been coloring my hair for Many years and for my daughter and my husband’s cuts …. She is a talented stylist so be sure to schedule in advance because she is very very popular! It’s so great to have total faith in your stylist! Also love the text message appointment reminders. I look forward to my appointments for that hair induced attitude adjustment and catching up on family matters. Thanks Janina!

Cary B. 11/16/15

I had my highlights (blonde) done by Nine and I am really pleased! She’s cool and easy to talk to, and the price was very reasonable. I was able to get an appointment less than a week in advance, which is great. We were going to add some rose gold to my hair, but it didn’t end up showing up. Even so, Nine said I should come back and she would add the rose gold (free of charge, of course). I didn’t bother just because I was happy with how my hair looked anyways and figured I’d just stick with the simple blonde. I’m going back for a hair cut tomorrow and will definitely be back for color!

Rosalee L. 11/4/15

I am blessed and so grateful to have found this salon with the most amazing talented stylist named Jo. Jo is a stylist who listens to your needs, but also is an artist and will honestly tell you what will work best for your face and hair type. WE agreed on the basic idea, but her expertise shined through in her personal amazing touches. She took her time with me, never felt rushed and felt like I was important. The outcome was important to her. I will be going back. Great stylist and seriously lucked out. So happy!

Linda G. 10/18/15

I was travelling through Denver and noticed the West End Salon had Sun & Mon hours. Called and got in for color and cut Monday afternoon. Abby did a great job with the color match and a cute cut. Now I can go to London looking good. Thanks for accommodating my schedule!

10/5/12

Cyndi is great at curly hair and her prices are affordable. She is super easy to talk to and pays close attention to what you ask for. She cuts my hair with care and precision that I haven’t found elsewhere in Colorado. I plan to stick with Cyndi until I move away after graduation. The salon is nice, spacious, and not too loud like other salons I’ve been to. They always have hot tea and little treats available too.

9/28/15

Janina at West End Salon in Boulder does a great Deva cut. I drive from southeast Denver for her expert services. She takes the time to make sure your hair is perfectly curly. I have been to Devachan in NYC and Janina was trained in their curly girl system. GO!!!

9/24/15

I came to Boulder in July for business and it was going to be a long stay! My hair needed lots of help – color, cut, the works! I found this salon and the best stylist ever. Abby! I could not be happier! This is now my third visit and my color is fabulous! She completely understood the color I needed since in Oregon someone had darkened my blonde hair and changed my highlights. Abby truly has a natural understanding of hair and for a young person, I couldn’t have felt more comfortable in her chair! I will keep returning to see her while in Colorado and I wish I could pack her up and take her to Oregon. A little background; I am a picky customer and am over 50 and have been going to high end salons for years in many states due to my professional career! I choose West End and Abby over many other salons and stylists!

Sandra F. 8/9/15

I enjoyed having my haircut by Nine. She did a great job. I like the look.

7/25/15

I’ve been coming here to see Cyndi Weber for years now. Nobody else has been able to do what she does with my hair. She truly listens and even when I feel like I’m being vague, she understands what I want. I always leave there feeling like a million bucks! I recommend this salon wholeheartedly.

7/17/15

I received a microdermabrasion, lip and eye brow waxings, and a high frequency facial from Shane Hynes the Esthetician at West End Salon. I have to admit that Shane is the absolute definition of a quality skin care therapist. Her knowledge about the nature and appreciation of beauty is outstanding! She was able to answer my questions and give me great skin care tips, in addition to educating me on which products are appropriate for my skin type and how I can avoid skin build up etc. She reshaped my brows after I went through agony of growing them back in for a redo and they look fabulous! Shane was super personable, friendly, professional and authentic with her knowledge. I highly recommend booking an appointment with her to receive a high quality experience.

Sarah R. 7/2/15

Went to Shane for a facial and I am very glad I did! She was incredibly friendly and easy to talk to. She also made sure to ask me about my skin type before she began in order to treat it properly – which was very considerate and professional. The facial itself was relaxing and rejuvenating. The atmosphere of the salon and Shane’s space were another plus; very fresh and stylish. Overall it was a great experience: easy to schedule, easy to find (great location on Pearl), Shane is super nice and the facial was very relaxing. The results seem to be promising too! I would for sure go back.

Rosie M. 6/9/15

I received a facial from Shane in the back. I was really pleasantly surprised by how relaxing it was and by how clean and healthy my skin felt afterwards. She really is an expert on skin and on the products she uses. I particularly enjoyed the masque with steam. Overall it was an excellent experience and my face felt great and fresh when I left!

Soph B. 6/9/15

OMG I love my face again!!! I just had the BEST facial from Shane. She is so knowledgeable about the products she is using and knows exactly what your skin needs. I highly recommend Shane to anyone looking to start or continue with a skincare plan. I saw an immediate impact from the facial, my skin tone looks so much better and my face is glowing again. Thank you Shane!

Dana J. 6/3/15

The West End Salon saved my life! Alright, extreme exaggeration … but I never realized how hard it was to get a hair appointment in Boulder under it was a little too late. Thankfully, the hard working folks at the West End Salon were able to fit me in with about 48 hours notice. As crazy as that sounds, some salons in the area don’t have openings for weeks -weeks! Ahhh!

I had a great time with the staff and my haircut was amazing. My stylist was responsive to my requests and it was all around an affordable experience. I don’t know if the design aesthetic really matches my taste, but the enthusiasm and skill of the staff is totally my style.

Carrie N. 6/3/15

My skin looks amazing! I got a facial from Shane and she was so wonderful. She took time to listen to what I need for my skin, and came up with a personalized treatment. I have been clueless about what I need for my sensitive skin, and she explained everything so well. She made things easy to understand. Shane is knowledgeable and clearly has a passion for what she does. She has such a positive and open demeanor, it felt like girlfriends talking about their skin. I never felt like she was trying to make a sale. Her space was so peaceful and comfortable even though there was the busy salon outside. I can’t wait to go back to Shane for another facial.

Veronica M. 6/2/15

Shane is the absolute best when it comes to waxing. I highly recommend her!

Molly F. 5/11/15

I love my look! I’ve been coming to Stephanie Pion for years and she never disappoints. I’ve had really bad dye jobs my whole life and each time I see her, my hair looks completely revamped and beautiful. West End Salon is a gorgeous place and the location in Boulder is perfect for spending my day pampering myself. It’s super adorable and everyone was so friendly and accommodating. I’m so pleased and you really can’t find another salon like this for the price. Love, love Stephanie and the West End Salon!

Ashlie H. 5/1/2015

There are few hair stylists who balance listening well to what you want and offering their expertise to help you look your best. Nine at West End Salon is the perfect balance of those 2 things! Her prices are fair, she’s a delight to sit with for a few hours, and it’s the best my hair ever looked. Your hair is her artwork! Go ASAP to see Nine!

Megan C. 4/18/15

My curly hair is extremely difficult to work with and Stephanie did a great job! I’ll definitely be coming back

Stephanie P. 4/16/15

As soon as I sat down in the chair Stephanie was sure I was in good hands. I showed her some pictures of what I wanted, the price range I wanted to stay in and the time frame I wanted to be done in. After the initial cut I knew I was going to get exactly what I wanted! Thanks Stephanie!

Erin E. 4/1/15

I absolutely love this place. Not only were they able to fit me in at the last moment, they got my best friend from England in as well. My hair looks AMAZING . Go to Nine. She is an absolute star!

Suze B. 3/29/15

Nine is AMAZING. She is everything I’ve every wanted (and have never found) in a stylist. The first thing she did was sit down with me and take her time understanding what I was going for, which pieces I liked and why, and then worked with me to find something that was perfect for my skin-tone/face-shape and incorporated all that I wanted and more!! I honestly can’t speak highly enough. After working with me to find the perfect look (with the help of her trusty iPad for pictures to make sure we were both on the same page), Nine proceeded with great, casual, low-pressure conversation and incredible technique. From her shampoo/scalp massage to her well-placed color to her perfect cut, Nine’ skills are very impressive. Highly recommend!!

Emily G. 3/26/15

Stephanie at West End Salon is amazing! I got my hair dyed darker and someone else put in highlights. My hair was brassy and orange! I quickly called West End and they set me up with Stephanie! I now have the most gorgeous brown hair with golden highlights 🙂 Stephanie is the go to person at West End! She really knows hair and used to own a salon in FL before moving here. If you want great hair, see her! 🙂

Kerry Cottingham C. 3/10/15

One of my friends got her hair cut at West End and I was blown away by how beautiful it looked. I asked for the name of her stylist and quickly scheduled an appointment. I have been seeing Josh for my haircut ever since. He is remarkable and I am truly excited to go in for my haircut every time. I also try to make plans right after because he styles my hair so much better than I am able to that I feel like my hair needs to get out and see the world! I would recommend him to anyone. The price can not be beat either.

Lauren R. 2/9/15

I love the west end salon. I started coming here when I needed to get my extensions done and Nine does hands down the best extensions ever. She also does all my cuts and colors and I always get exactly what I want. She keeps things natural with a great flare to them. She’s personable and really easy to talk to and I wouldn’t trade her for anything! They have reasonable prices and you get great quality and service for the price! I would recommend them to anyone 🙂

Angelena A. 1/8/2015

From out of town for my sisters wedding. West end was recommended. (Never had my hair done before) I had my hair styled by Stephanie and she did a fantastic job.  She made me feel comfortable and was extremely patient. She was able to work with me until I loved it. If I’ve ever in the area again, I would absolutely come back

Yessica Lee. 12/13/14

Jo is personable and a great stylist. She listens to what you need before just diving in! Love this salon

BG 12/13/14

Personally love this place! They do such a great job on my hair and are always so welcoming. Nine does a great job. Highly recommended.

Jillian G. 11/29/14

West End Salon is great! Nine Stevens has done my hair twice now and she’s done amazingly. She was the first one to dye my hair, and so I was tentative about it, but I would trust her to do it every time. Friendly, helpful staff that cares

Missy G. 11/21/14

I highly recommend Jo, who took me in on short notice following an epic cut/highlights fail at another salon. With an out-of-state wedding a few days away, I was anxious about choosing a stylist at a salon I’d never been to. The receptionist I spoke with was very reassuring that Jo would work her magic. I’m not kidding when I say that Jo not only took years off my face with a sassy uplifting new do and gorgeously blended color, but she gave me a mood and energy lift as well. You’ll be very happy with Jo’s scissor and color artistry.

Kim J. 12/2/14

Beautiful little salon. I had a very vague idea of what i wanted for a color when i came in but i got great help from Jo. Really helped me pick what i wanted and it looks great. Thanks!

Monica K. 11/14/14

I love my curly girl haircut done by Nine, a beautiful young fresh-from-California stylist. She is certified in the Deva Cut Curly Girl haircut and has obviously perfected it. My crazy, curly hair is uniformly curly, has lift and maintains the style beautifully over 2 months. I love getting compliments!!

Linda S. 10/31/14

I came in as a walk in and Jo enthusiastically took me in. I came in just to get a quick trim, but thanks to Jo’s expertise and careful thought, she suggested partial high lights to go with– I agreed. And I couldn’t be happier with the results! I definitely recommend  west end and Jo. Both are great, awesome atmosphere and just what I was looking for!

Kate H 10/27/14

I’ve been to West End Salon to see Nine three times now.  Each time I’ve had a very positive experience.  The receptionists are always very friendly and helpful, I’ve always been able to get an appointment quickly.  The salon is clean and tasteful.

The first time I went to see Nine I was completely vague about what I wanted from a cut and somehow she still came up with something I loved.  The second time I was there for a complementary, between cuts, bang trim.  Also looked great.  Today I showed up with a somewhat more specific idea of what I was looking for.  Nine looked at both of the pics I had with me and listened to what I said, and BOOM, another great cut.  Really adore this gal, she’s cute, sweet, interesting and very skilled.

Long story short, I’ll be back, probably over and over again.  Thanks, Nine!

Heather S. 09/14/14

I took a picture of what I wanted and showed my stylist, Nine. It was an intense red base and blonde ombré. She did an amazing job and made it look exactly like the picture. I love it and will definitely be back!

Courtney 08/16/2014

I just visited this salon for my 2nd time this past week, and I have to say Joshua is the BEST hair styler! I have searched for YEARSSSSS for a stylist who can properly handle my curls, and I have finally found him! He is so gentle with them and precise! I use to leave previous salons with a blowout because i had lost hope in the hair salon industry in regards to properly styling curls after combing through them. I finally learned some useful tips from him on how to properly maintain my curls!

I also gave him very vague instructions as to the hair colors and highlights  that i wanted the past 2 times, and his skills and taste gave me a look i never imagined i would have! I love my hair. I will return to him as long as he is working at this salon! He is such a fun stylist! Great at head massages too!!!

Jill B. 8/28/14

Alex is amazing. She is great with curly And wavy hair, is incredible with color and always gives me a fantastic cut. She is great with the consultation and is great at gently guiding me away from a crazy celebrity hair style and toward a version of that hairstyle that actually works for me.

She’s amazing!

The salon and my stylist, Alex, are great. I never have had a bad experience. Alex is great with color and always gives me a cut that will look good for a week or so past when I should have gone back. She also knows how to tailor a magazine haircut for me (and the amount of time I am willing to put into it in the morning). I recommend them to everyone!

Daniel G. 5/24/14

I am very picky about who cuts my hair (due to there being a TON of it) and the gal I went to for my hair cut last week made me feel at ease & comfortable. I love my haircut. I’ve been looking for a new salon I could trust for a long time & these guys are it!

Danielle E. 4/27/14

I hadn’t gotten my realllllly long hair cut in a while, so I went to Terri for a shoulder-length cut based off a couple of pictures I found. Not only does my hair look amazing (seriously it’s killer) but I also had a great time chatting with her during my cut. I’m pretty picky about hair cuts, but this was the first time I walked out feeling like a million bucks. This lady knows what’s she’s doing!

Kenzie R. 1/28/14

Google + Reviews:

Janina is the best! I have very blonde and fine hair. She is amazing at toning it down and giving me cuts that are sexy, modern and still professional. She is very warm and caring. I recommend her to everyone that asks.

Nichole Carmichael 9/8/15

Facebook Reviews:

Nine did the impossible and SAVED my hair from a bad haircut at another salon. Save your time and go to her to get it done right. I’m never going to anyone else but her!!! Thank you!!!

Emily Ross 11/21/15

Love West End Salon. Everyone is friendly and personable. The first time I was there it felt like I’d been going there for years. Can’t imagine going anywhere else now. (Special thanks to Nine who did an amazing job on my hair and my brows)

Cherie Gray Lester 8/24/15

I love this entire Salon I have my favorite but I could go to anyone there and leave beaming because the whole place is filed with amazing talent and personality.

Crystal R Stegman 7/15/15

Great experience yesterday from being greeted and offered water through the wonderful facial given by Shane to the very friendly goodbye when I left. Comfortable salon, friendly staff. I will be back! Betsy Rickel 5/30/15

Great atmosphere and service!!! Abby was so sweet and took the time to explain all of the products she was using and taught me how to curl my hair with a straight iron. I’ll definitely come back 🙂 Hayley O’Neal 4/29/15

I moved to Boulder pretty recently and was looking for a stylist who knew how to handle curly hair/trained in doing the Deva Cut. I got an appointment with Nine and she is awesome! Couldn’t have asked for a better stylist She was professional, friendly and thoroughly explained all the steps involved in my cut and balayage. Will definitely be returning! Angel Prem 1/11/15

Here’s a story that I have to share! Several years ago a hairdresser told me I was “hair challenged.” I am. But I dumped her anyway right after that comment. It took several more years to find the West End Salon — and more importantly — to find Alex Gilbert. In my opinion, Alex is the best there is! Alex cuts and colors my hair perfectly! So perfectly, that I don’t even look like I’m “hair challenged.” On May 28th I was on a flight from Washington, DC to Munich, Germany. Soon after departure, a flight attendant came up to me and told me she absolutely loved my hair color and style and asked where my stylist was located. She was disappointed when she discovered I live in Colorado. She is based in Munich, but frequently flies in and out of Washington, DC. (She was hoping I lived in Washington.) She had very long hair, and had decided to cut it much shorter, but could not find that “perfect” short hair style. Until I walked on board. She did the next best thing — she took pictures of my hair from the front, side, and back, hoping that her hair stylist can duplicate my look. So — Alex! — what a huge compliment to your immense talents as a hair stylist! (Because we already know that I’m hair challenged!) You have a fan in Munich that is (hopefully) sporting my hair style! 6/22/14

 

After researching the Deva Curl method, I made an appointment with Janina and it has been a life-changing experience. After fighting my natural curls for over 40 years, I can honestly say I’m starting to love them. Janina is a great teacher and spent a lot of time patiently going over how to take care of my curly hair. I had never been able to reproduce “salon-styled” hair until now! I absolutely love my cut and color and the instructional guidance was priceless! I even got printed instructions to take home! I am definitely going back! Thanks so much Janina! I am telling everyone I see with curly hair about you! 6/26/14

Yelp.com (including filtered reviews):

(5 Stars) After years and years of suffering under the snippers of those not familiar with/educated about curly hair, I was titillated to find Josh at West End and receive my first Deva Curl cut. He did an amazing job of bringing my own ideas about what I wanted to fruition and educating me on how to recreate the style. I know I won’t be going anywhere else in Boulder…unless, of course, Josh does.   L.B.   Boulder, Co 5/17/2013

 

(5 Stars) I have been seeing Alex for 4 years now and could not be happier.  I was nervous about getting my corkscrew curls cut in Boulder, as the “bubble” is not known for its diversity and I have ethnic hair.  Alex is totally confident and capable in both cutting and coloring my hair.  I love the DEVA cut and the products.  They keep my curls frizz free, defined without the helmet head.  Alex is super friendly, helpful and she gives me hair I want, not that she wants which has been a problem in the past with other stylists.  I have also recommended several friends with stick straight hair and they are amazed that she does such a good job with vastly different hair types.  Curly or straight, Alex should be doing your do!   Audra S.    Boulder, Co 3/7/2013

 

(5 Stars) LOVE Janina!  I have very thick, wavy, long hair and she helps me to keep it tamed and not so dry in this Colorado weather.  She is extremely talented!    Valerie D.    Boulder, Co  1/22/2013

 

( 5 Stars) If you have naturally curly hair then this salon is for YOU!  I struggled with my curly locks for so many years, most stylist do not know how to cut curls so they blow dry them straight!  My stylist at West End is Janina and she has been cutting curly hair for some time, she has naturally curly hair too.  She uses a technique and products called Diva Cut which allow our locks to naturally curl without friz.  Now the entire salon is certified in this Diva cut as well.  In addition to a great style the scalp massage during shampoo is out of this world!  Betty A.  Louisville 9/12/2012

 

(5 Stars) I’ve been a bridesmaid in two weddings where the bride arranged for us to have our hair done at the West End Salon. Both times, everyone’s hair was beautifully done. What’s more, we were greeted each time with smiles, excellent stylists who listened to our unique requests, and mimosas! I actually liked my hair so much that I scheduled a haircut with the same stylist who did my updo for my friend’s wedding this weekend. I would highly recommend this salon to anyone looking for a great haircut or up do! Bridget N. Boulder  6/16/2012

 

(5 Stars) My first trip to the West End Salon was great, and I didn’t even get my hair done! My boyfriend was looking a little bit like jesus with long hair and a full beard. I convinced him it was finally time to trim up, so we made an appointment with Cyndi. Everyone was so friendly and Cyndi gave my boyfriend a whole make-over. She even trimmed his beard! He looks great, and he was very happy with it. (And he’s picky!) I’ll definitely be making my next appointment with Cyndi at West End, and I know my boyfriend will be back as well.   Alexis N.    Boulder, Co 6/12/2012

 

(5 StarsAlex is the best….I highly recommend!  Becca H.  Missoula, MT  3/23/2012

 

(5 Stars) I just had my first ever Deva Curly Hair cut from Janina at West End Salon and it’s the best haircut I’ve ever had! I never knew that curly hair should be cut differently than straight and believe me, it makes a huuuge difference. My curls are more defined, bouncy and soft. I love it
Janina really took her time with my haircut and explained everything she did. She even talked me through the steps of properly washing and styling my curly hair. I’ve never had such personalized attention at a salon before. My husband gets his haircut from Thomas here too and he always looks great. I’m so glad I found a salon that I can trust and feel comfortable in.  Adriana D.    San Francisco, CA   2/24/2012

 

(5 Stars) Love the West End.  Every once in awhile I get my haircut somewhere else either on a trip or to try something new, and I immediately regret it.  Janina has been cutting my hair for almost four years and I’ve never been unhappy with a cut.  I have curly hair that has never styled the way I think it should – until I started getting the Deva cut.  Color is spot on too!  Nicole C.    Boulder, Co  1/19/2012

(previous review from Nicole C. Boulder, CO) BEST. HAIRCUT. EVER.  I love going to the West End Salon.  Hands down Janina is the best person to go to for curly hair.  I won’t let anyone else cut my curls again.  Janina approaches hair cuts like an artist looks at a canvas and while that sounds overly cheesy, it’s the truth!

This last time I had it colored/highlighted and was completely happy.

Rock on.  11/12/2011